Council on Rehabilitation Education

The Council on Rehabilitation Education (CORE) is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) and is a member of the Association of Specialized and Professional Accreditors (ASPA). CORE accredits graduate programs that provide academic preparation for a variety of professional rehabilitation counseling positions.

CORE changed the scope of its accreditation in 2008 to include undergraduate programs. The Committee on Undergraduate Education (CUE) became the Commission on Undergraduate Standards and Accreditation (CUSA). Undergraduate accreditation is granted to eligible programs within the United States and Puerto Rico. CORE does not accredit programs outside the United States and Puerto Rico.

The CORE accreditation process promotes:

  • The effective delivery of rehabilitation services to individuals with disabilities
  • Continuing review and improvement of master’s degree level RCE Programs
  • Program self-improvement based on outcome-oriented data obtained from feedback from graduates, students, and employers
  • Meeting the personnel needs of both public and private rehabilitation agencies
  • Providing graduates who have the skills, knowledge, and attitudes necessary to provide rehabilitation counseling services to individuals with physical, mental, and/or emotional disabilities

Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification

The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification (CRCC) is an independent, not-for-profit organization that sets the standard for quality rehabilitation counseling services through its internationally recognized certification program. Individuals passing the voluntary certification examination become qualified as Certified Rehabilitation Counselors, or CRCs. To maintain the CRC designation, individuals are required to renew their certification every 5 years, either through re-examination or by meeting specific ongoing educational requirements. The CRC Certification Program is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA).

The CRCC is the world’s largest rehabilitation counseling organization with over 17,000 current certificants. While the vast majority of Certified Rehabilitation Counselors (CRCs) practice in the United States, Certified Rehabilitation Counselors also practice in numerous other countries worldwide and in Canada as Canadian Certified Rehabilitation Counselors (CCRCs).

National Clearinghouse of Rehabilitation Training Materials

The National Clearinghouse of Rehabilitation Training Materials (NCRTM), is the Rehabilitation Services Administration’s (RSA) central repository for training resources in vocational rehabilitation. The NCRTM offers the vocational rehabilitation and education communities, grantees, researchers, trainers and practitioners the opportunity to gain visibility for their work, while contributing new knowledge to their specific fields.

Suggest a Resource

Please contact us to suggest a new resource for our website.